Wrong motives

My uncle, Purusottam Senapati, was very cruel to me. At the end of every month, when the teacher asked for his fees he would reply, ‘You teach him nothing. Why do you ask for money?’ The teacher would say, ‘I watch over him night and day; I don’t allow him to go out even for a minute to play.’ My uncle would retort, ‘But I see no signs of it on his back.’ The teacher would thus get my uncle’s message; for no reason he would come and hit me hard with his cane ten or twelve times.

— Fakir Mohan Senapati (1843–1918). Story of my life (1918, published in 1927, translated from Oriya in 1997)

Barbaric? Sure. But there’s little difference between this teacher and us whenever instead of doing the right thing we do something to merely please our boss, donors, investors or other powers that be.

Published in: on 21/10/2011 at 16:56  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://burubaxair.wordpress.com/2011/10/21/wrong-motives/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

