A modern version of the Martin Niemöller’s poem

Taken from one of the comments to this article: Doctor ‘distorted diagnoses for local authorities’

When the SS came for the children of the parents with learning difficulties
I remained silent
I was not a parent with learning difficulties

When the SS came for the children of the parents who were disabled
I remained silent
I was not a parent with disabilities

When the SS came for the children of the mentally impaired
I remained silent
I was not a parent with mental imparities

When the SS came for the children of the parents who had been in care
I remained silent
I was not a parent who had been in care

When the SS came for the children of the parents who had suffered abuse (sexual, physical, domestic)
I remained silent
I was not a parent who had suffered abuse

When the SS came for the children of the parents who were homeless
I remained silent
I was not a parent who was homeless

When the SS came for the children of the poor
I remained silent
I was not a parent who was poor

When the SS came for the children of the teenagers
I remained silent
I was not a parent who was a teenager

When the SS came for the children of the single parents
I remained silent
I was not a parent who was single

When the SS came for the children of the working class
I remained silent
I was not a parent who was working class

When are they coming for your children?

The original Martin Niemöller’s poem was this:

When the Nazis came for the communists,
I remained silent;
I was not a communist.

When they locked up the social democrats,
I remained silent;
I was not a social democrat.

When they came for the trade unionists,
I did not speak out;
I was not a trade unionist.

When they came for the Jews,
I remained silent;
I wasn’t a Jew.

When they came for me,
there was no one left to speak out.

In German:

Als die Nazis die Kommunisten holten,
habe ich geschwiegen;
ich war ja kein Kommunist.

Als sie die Sozialdemokraten einsperrten,
habe ich geschwiegen;
ich war ja kein Sozialdemokrat.

Als sie die Gewerkschafter holten,
habe ich nicht protestiert;
ich war ja kein Gewerkschafter.

Als sie die Juden holten,
habe ich geschwiegen;
ich war ja kein Jude.

Als sie mich holten,
gab es keinen mehr, der protestierte.

Did you notice how many parallels are there between Nazi Germany and regimes in modern Western countries?

Some more extracts from the comments to this article:

We were assessed by a so called expert for “75 mins exactly”, in an SS ‘spy room’ …. A room 8 x10, with two way mirrors, audio recording/listening devices and CCTV!!
The expert sat in the room, while SS sat behind the mirrors.
My children had pent up frustrations after being kept in this room for 30-40mins and when these frustrations ‘boiled over’ it was adjudged my children were beyond my control.
My 4yo was screaming + my 11 yo crying because her brother was screaming.
Based on this my children were put in separate placements, with the conclusion my son should be freed for adoption!
The expert had a meeting with SS before the assessment, we do not know what was discussed.
BTW I do not/have never smoked, taken drugs, taken alcohol, gambled, been involved in criminality, nor behaved in a promiscuous fashion.
I was involved with SS because my husband was found dying in suspicious circumstances, I became a bit depressed and my house became a bit of a tip!

Do I deserve to lose my two children forever, apparently I do!!

***

What I still struggle to fully understand is, how as a nation could we allow this to happen?

We need to make sure that whatever changes are implemented now, will always safeguard everyone and not only the professionals .

The judge in my case was perplexed why I would ever want to complain about the NYAS appointed barrister smelling of fresh alcohol at 11am! Apparently it was me that was in the wrong and being disrespectful!

Exactly WTF is right with an alcoholic 60+ year old woman from Coram Chambers, London doing in a family court speaking on behalf of a child whilst still under the influence?

***

Social services have no pity, no humanity, and no intention of caring for any child. Their greed for money surpasses that of even the bankers and the MPs – and that is saying a lot! If they are not already involved in your life – AVOID THEM LIKE THE PLAGUE. They are fare more deadly than the plague!!

***

I was a Miss A too.

Wandsworth Borough Council paid a private psychiatrist from the Priory Hospital to write a report on me. This psychiatrist had not met me or my son. Nor had anyone from social services at that time. The report said: ‘it was impossible that Miss A’s parenting would not be significantly impacted’ and it was suggested my son was at risk of harm from me.

At the same time an independent NHS psychiatrist said I was ‘no risk to anyone including my son.’The Council chose to rely on their privately commissioned report from someone who had never met me. They ignored the report from the independent NHS psychiatrist who had spent two hours with me doing a full assessment.

I was later referred to the same private psychiatrist from the Priory, this time not paid for by the Council, but by my insurance company. Neither she nor I realised that she had already assessed me for the Council’s purposes. After she had met me she produced an entirely different report saying my condition had no child protection impact or issues at all. I later found out she was the author of the earlier report through a subject access request.

Councils are hiring psychiatrists at the tax payers’ expense to rubber stamp their own preconceptions. How can a ‘medical expert’ make a judgement with life changing consequences without meeting a patient or their child?

We didn’t lose our son but we spent had a year of chaos and fear, fighting to protect our family. We spent £10,000 on legal fees to do so. What about families who don’t have access to lawyers and can’t fight their corner? They don’t have a chance with this kind of abuse of power destroying families.

***

I got told that complaining about Wandsworth Council actions against my family was: ‘prioritising my needs above those of my son’ I knew immediately that was Council speak for ‘if you complain we will come back again and next time you might not get to keep your son.’

Abuse of power by officials (paid for by the taxpayer) is terrifying – they do behave as if they are above the law. Few can afford the legal costs of challenging their actions and there is always the fear that they will be back to hound you and your family if you dare to speak out.

Our so called ‘child protection’ system suggests we do live in an Orwellian state where public officials profit from with 6 figure salaries and huge pension pots no matter how wrong they get it and no matter how much harm they cause to families and distress to children, they are unaccountable and they know it.

Published in: on 05/04/2012 at 13:49  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://burubaxair.wordpress.com/2012/04/05/a-modern-version-of-the-martin-niemollers-poem/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] A modern version of the Martin Niemöller’s poem (burubaxair.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

