To my students — don’t be sad

This post is for my students from the Uva Wellassa University of Sri Lanka.

***

My dear students,

I got so much love from you during my last days in Badulla that I worried I would suffer from love overdose.

Many many thanks for all sweet things you have done for me. Thanks for visiting me. Thanks for your calls, emails and SMS.

Thanks for your encouraging words and prayers.

Now I am with my family at my parents’ house in Kazakhstan.

It’s cold here. The temperature is below zero.

kz

Our children are excited about snow.

My older daughter used to like snow in Afghanistan but she does not remember it.

My younger daughter has never played with snow before. She was one year old when we left Afghanistan.

I don’t like cold weather. I like hot climate better.

My students, please don’t be sad. I will not be happy if you are sad.

I will be happy if you do something great and let me know about it.

If you write some great code, put it in the Internet, and send me the link, or if you create some valuable product, or if you win some competition, or simply get an excellent mark on your exam — all these things will make me happy.

Whenever you succeed in something, please inform me about it. It doesn’t have to be related to the subjects I taught you, it can be anything.

So, don’t waste your time and energy on being sad. Better spend your time and energy on learning how to do something great.

And when you manage to do great things, let me know about it — I will be happy.

Best wishes,

Vlad

Published in: on 12/03/2013 at 14:18  Comments (42)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://burubaxair.wordpress.com/2013/03/12/to-my-students-dont-be-sad/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

42 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. We are happy sir because you can now be with your family. Your children can feel the sense of the real motherland. Though we are not going to meet again your name will remain in our hearts. Only remaining thing to say is Best of luck with your all works. Thank you for all that you did to us……

    • Thank you for your kind words. Our children got used to Sri Lanka. Kazakhstan is like a foreign and a strange country for them. πŸ™‚ Best wishes to you!

  2. Dear Sir,
    You are a great person I’ve met so far in my life.Your practicable and amazing knowledge is a precious gift for the human being of this world..The people who have both good hearts and excellent brains like you are rare..Thank you sir..We wish you and your family all the best!!!!!!!

  3. Dear sir,
    I am happy to hear that you are in happy. Best wishes for your future.
    We will never forget you. Good luck sir.

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ I will also not forget you. Keep in touch.

  4. Dear Sir!
    We always your students….
    we will never forget you sir….
    πŸ˜€

  5. Dear sir,
    It’s been a great pleasure having you at our university & doing our studies with you. Everyone at our university was mesmerised by your simplicity, down to earth attitude & the knowlegde. UWU & we’re going to miss you badly but, happy for the fact that you’re with your lovely family now..
    Thank you dear sir & wishing you all the very best for your future endaevours & may you have all the love & happiness in the world with your loving family !!!

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ I also enjoyed teaching all of you. Wishing you success and happiness.

  6. Dear sir, That was great job you did here in UWU to open our eyes to the new technology and also you taught us that how to think simplely and differently. Best wishes to you sir for your future works….

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ Best wishes to you also!

  7. Dear sir,
    You were a great lecturer sir.Nice to meet a person like you and a supervisor like you.Learned so many things.
    Wish you joy and happy every day.
    good luck

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ May your heart will always be free of murmurs πŸ™‚

  8. Dear Sir,
    You did great job in UWU to give interest to us about new technologies and guide some useful ways of writing coding and also show some interesting ways in teaching.Any way always we are your students.
    We will never forget you…

    • I am also always with you and will never forget you!

  9. Dear sir,
    we got better opportunity to learn from you…I never forget my last lecture and my last quiz,because it is the greatest quiz that we did..you are a great lecturer in our heart forever…Thank you for giving that opportunity to us….Be happy…and smile…Best of good luck sir…

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ Best of luck to you also!

  10. Dear sir,
    You did a great job in UWU. The way you tried to teach us is little bit different. But I like that way. It help to think and see the subjects differently, more logically. We will never forget you. your suddenly leaving is very sad to us. thank you very much for every thing that you have done to us. Wish you a happy life with your loving family….

    • I also was sad to leave you. Keep in touch!

  11. Dear sir,
    We are happy to see your post sir, You are the one of the best teacher I met. Sir I like your different assignment task that you gave us, I really enjoy that. Thank u very mush for everything that u have done to us. I wish u be happy and joy with your family. We never forget u sir…

    • I also will never forget you. I have your pictures with me.

  12. I thanks to god for gave great opportunity to us that u were our lecturer. We have learnt lot of things from u. we never 4get u sir.
    Have a success in ur evey work…
    Thank you sir.

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ Best wishes of success to you!

  13. Thank you sir.
    Definitely we will make you happy. And everything will be very fine for you and your family. I thank the god for made you as our lecturer and pray the god for your healthy and wealthy life.
    πŸ™‚

    • Yes, please, make me happy πŸ™‚ All the best!

  14. Happy to hear from you sir. We were lucky to learn from you. You showed us the path to explore the technlogies & theories in a very simple way. Especially, you told me that there is nothing difficult in Mathematics. It was an enjoyable time & we learnt happily. You are very simple & hardworking.
    Thank you very much sir. We owe you a lot. Although you are far away from us you will remain in our hearts forever. πŸ™‚
    I wish you all the best!!!

    • It’s so wonderful that you remember it: There’s nothing difficult in mathematics. Remember this always and do great things. You can do it!

  15. Dear Sir,
    I am very happy to hear from you.Lucky to had a lecturer like you as well as person like you.we will never forget you
    Wish u all the best sir…!!!

  16. Dear Dr.Vlad,
    I’m not a student of yours and U don’t know me personally. I’m Suneth from the 1st batch of Uva Wellaassa University, followed Computer Science and Technology. I was the student leader when I was there, that was the only reason to reject my application regarding joining d university staff. (Later I joined University of Colombo and University of Ruhuna, currently I’m working as a Lecturer.)
    Although I don’t know u personally, I know that u have done a great service with ur extraordinary knowledge for my juniors. I know u did ur best foe them. You have done a remarkable service, even better than me if I was given a chance.This is in order to thank you on behalf of past students of UWU.
    Thank You again and Good Luck with your Life with loving Family.

    • Thanks for your comment and kind words. I hope you are enjoying your work now. Best of luck! Don’t regret that your application were rejected. You could have bigger troubles if it were accepted πŸ™‚

  17. sir, thank you very much for everything that you have done for us. We will never forget you sir. we will do our best to make you happy. Wish you a great life!

    • Waiting for the things that will make me happy πŸ™‚ Best wishes!

  18. Dr vlad…
    sir i am not a it student of you but from student of UWU….I have heard your differences in lecturing than others from my friends and seen even you were walking .. because that was very speed and save more time to work. that is the lesson i was learned from you and i never seen like that person in my university.i wish you happy and safe future. thank you for sharing your knowledge with our uni.

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ Also best wishes to you!

  19. Happy to hear that you are enjoying your self with your family sir. Thank you very much for everything that you did for us at UWU. Wish you and your family the best of everything in the future….

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ I also wish you all the best in your future!

  20. dear sir,
    you have done your job well as you can in our cmpz.Also students encourage to do best thing.I have photograph take with you when you travel to colombo i think you remember that day i was supprise with u…
    best luck sir for your future…..

  21. dear sir,
    you have done your job well as you can in our cmpz.Also students encourage to do best thing.I have photograph take with you when you travel to colombo i think you remember that day i was supprise with u…
    best luck sir for your future…..

    • Hi Damith,

      Of course, I remember I met you on the road during my hitch-hiking trip to Colombo. You asked me if my bus was broken πŸ™‚

      Unfortunately I haven’t done any contribution to the science of hitch-hiking in Sri Lanka. In particular, I haven’t figured out how to travel at night and which is the best way to go between Badulla and the A9 road. Maybe some of you can fill those gaps in the future and publish them in the Internet.

      Best wishes in your studies!


Leave a Reply

