Qaraghandy

Qaraghandy (Russian: Karaganda) is the city where I am now.

It is located in the geographical centre of Kazakhstan.

kg01

Pictures of Qaraghandy at a bus stop

***

kg02

Pictures of Qaraghandy at a bus stop

It’s cold here at this time of the year. A lot of snow.

kg03

***

kg04

***

kg05

***

kg06

***

kg07

My attempts to make myself useful

***

kg08

My school

***

kg09

My school

***

kg10

My school

***

kg11

My school

I’ve always hated my school. I never wanted to go to school. I’ve never missed my school after I graduated.

However, I had a very good physics teacher. That’s probably why I became a physicist.

I remember, when I was an undergraduate student, my mother wrote me that she had seen my physics teacher, and she had told him that I had been studying physics at the university. She wrote that he was so happy to hear it that he clapped his hands.

A few years later, I had my first scientific article. It was published in the Journal of Physical Chemistry.

I took one copy of the article, wrote on it that it was dedicated to my dear teacher, and sent it to my mother asking her to find my teacher and give it to him.

I thought that he would be happy to know that one of his schoolchildren became a scientist.

A few weeks later I got a letter from my mother.

She wrote that she couldn’t fulfil my request because my teacher had passed away.

She found another teacher from my school who told her that my physics teacher had a difficult life during his last years.

He had some family problems, and was left alone. Because of that, he was in depression and drank a lot of alcohol.

Later, he had to leave his job at school.

He did some occasional unqualified work in the market, something far below his qualification.

Then he died alone, forgotten by everyone.

I was very sad. I thought that if I had sent him news about my achievements earlier, it could have encouraged him. Maybe he could stop drinking and returned to normal life.

He was a really great teacher.

***

Some more pictures of Qaraghandy:

kg12

***

kg13

***

kg14

***

kg15

***

kg16

The road to the south.
This is the road where I had my first hitch-hiking experience.

***

kg17

A “Stop” sign. In Kazakhstan, they are in Kazakh and Russian. English will not help you much in this land.

***

kg18

The grocery store where I used to go when I was a little boy.

***

kg21

It says “We are one nation”.
There is around a hundred ethnic groups in Kazakhstan.

***

kg22

Cakes in a supermarket

***

kg23

Cakes in a supermarket

***

kg24

Cakes in a supermarket

***

kg25

Cakes in a supermarket

***

kg27

My kindergarten “Gulder”

Gulder means “flowers” in Kazakh.

kg28

My kindergarten “Gulder”

I sometimes ran away from my kindergarten. I’ve never liked when anyone restricts my freedom.

When I ran away I went to explore our city. I liked to travel by bus (children below 7 didn’t have to pay for a ticket).

Then I told my friends stories about mysterious, far away districts of our city.

kg29

“Wishing you a peaceful sky, Kazakhstan!”
My kindergarten “Gulder”

***

kg30

My kindergarten “Gulder”

Not many kindergartens survived since that time. But Gulder is still there.

Empires collapse, armies are crushed, presidents, kings and governments are overthrown, ideologies disappear but my kindergarten — Gulder — stays forever.

Published in: on 13/03/2013 at 22:56  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://burubaxair.wordpress.com/2013/03/13/qaraghandy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So,you are enjoying with your childhood memories sir. It’s realy pleasure to see that you are happy in your home city. When I saw the cakes in supermarket I remember that you gave cakes for the best students who got good marks. wow great time we had.

    • Thanks:) Why anonymously? Don’t be shy.

  2. The cakes actually remember our AI lectures sir.And happy to see your home town and the places you spent your childhood sir

    • Hi Omesha,

      My cakes were much simpler 🙂 I’m glad that you have sweet memories from AI lectures. Wishing you more cakes in future!


Leave a Reply

