Hitchhiking in Kazakhstan in winter

On the 22nd of December, which was the shortest day of the year, I hitch-hiked from Karaganda to Almaty.

The whole journey was just one thousand kilometres.

hhkz1

Somewhere on the road

This was my first hitch-hiking trip in Kazakhstan in winter.

Previously, I had hitch-hiked in winter in Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan, but those countries are warmer.

I had also hitch-hiked in the Tomsk region of Russia, where it was minus 30 °C, but that region rarely has strong winds, so it is not difficult to travel, provided that you have suitable clothes.

Kazakhstan is notorious for Burans, icy roads, and scary temperatures, so I felt a little uneasy before my journey.

But in the morning when I started, it was only about minus 17 °C.

The weather was pleasant and calm during the whole day. There was almost no ice on the road.

hhkz2

My backpack and my shadow

Two thirds of the distance was covered after the sunset.

It was easy. I would say, too easy for this time of the year in this part of the planet.

It looks like God decided to provide so much care for me this time, that I didn’t have a chance to experience any terrible adventures.

Maybe next time? 🙂

Published in: on 23/12/2015 at 16:55  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://burubaxair.wordpress.com/2015/12/23/hitchhiking-in-kazakhstan-in-winter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. “It looks like God decided”
    Are you religious??


Leave a Reply

